RSS Feed

Toy Story 3 and the other films that make me cry…

Posted on

WARNING! TOY STORY 3 SPOILER! DO NOT READ ON IF YOU’RE GOING TO WATCH!

Last night the family en-masse (me, girls, Stu and my parents) went to watch Toy Story 3.  I loved it.  We all did.  I belly laughed, much to the embarrassment of my children, and I actually cried. Really lots of tears. And I was the only one of us to cry!?

What made me cry was the relevance of growing up.  My eldest daughter was about 3 when we first watched Toy Story.  She had a toy Woody, who had the string to pull and was often heard saying “There’s a snake in my boots”.

Yesterday we watched as Andy (the boy who owns the toys of Toy Story) was going off to college.   When Andy hands his toys over with such love to a child who he knew would play with them and cherish them, I couldn’t hold back the tears (even filling up again now). It was so poignant,  I was a mushy mess.  If I’d have been at home I would have really bawled…

The film had us crying with laughter, all of us. It was so well written, that I fell in love with the films all over again. Some great things were added to this one and it certainly didn’t dissapoint in being the third in the series.

I’m well known for crying during films, some of the worst for me have been the classics (cry films not classic films!)

  • Kramer vs Kramer
  • Steel Magnolias – actually cried til my nose was blocked – twice!
  • Titanic
  • Moulin Rouge
  • Beaches
  • Life is Beautiful
  • Marley & Me
  • The Color Purple (again twice)

I think I’m emotionally too highly strung…

Leave a Reply

