RSS Feed

Back in time for Christmas

A Mooooory Christmas!

Ok, so I have had a huge sabbatical from this blog.  Apologies to Nate, and a heartfelt thanks for actually noticing.

Since starting my new job, full time and commuting, the week is never long enough and the weekends are way too short and have far too many chores to complete in them. Although I must admit that I am loving my job, the two casualties to this are blogging and a severe photograph deficiency. I aim to change ALL this in the New Year. She says.

This is my last day in work (officially) before the Christmas break, although I do have to work a bit in between, it is my last ‘official’ day!

I was laying awake at 3am this morning, worrying about the 6kg joint of beef that is filling the bottom shelf.  I then promptly forgot to take it out of the freezer this morning, before I left for work. I have searched online and indications look like a 2 day defrost period – I am supposed to be cooking this mother on Christmas Eve . Mmmm.  Yes the joy of christmas entertaining is upon me.

From tomorrow we have guests arriving and we have a house full (13 people, a baby, 3 dogs) for three days.  I am really looking forward to it – we have stores and food in to feed treble that number so I don’t think we will starve… It’s just the thought of the dishwasher and logistics of it seemingly always being a meal-time over christmas I worry about.

All presents (bar about 3) are wrapped, I have to get back from a snowy Oxford this afternoon and start the bedding recce and tidying, before going for my annual late-night supermarket raid for the groceries.  All enjoyable.

Maybe, just maybe, I will post some more christmas musings about the beauty of a true family christmas fest.

But… have a fabulous festive time and a truly happy and prosperous new year…. Nate 😉

Leave a Reply

